VICTORIANWEB PROJECT: Research into Victoriana

With the site being solely dedicated to the Victorian era, it seems likely that the redesign will have elements reflective of this era.  

However, as the site serves a serious function for research, I have decided from the outset that I don’t want to over-do the victorian theme.  I would like the new site to be designed to be appropriate for the functionality side, with maybe some hints/references to the victoria era.

The artistic movement of ‘Steampunk’ juxtaposes modern day technology with Victorian design and construction.  As I intend to fuse modern day functionality with Victoria era design and content, I thought that this would be a great place to start looking for some influences.

ImageImageImageImageImage

 

 

I also gathered some images of typically Vicotorian page adornment (swirls, frames, etc):

ImageImageImageImageImageImageImage

 

I really like these little Victorian themed icons which perfectly reflect how I would like to fuse modern design with Victorian references/images – I just wish I’d designed them!:

Image

Leave a Reply

