PERSONAL DESIGN PROJECT – ARTIST AT WORK GRAPHIC

This week my Uncle gave me a digital photograph of himself sketching, with a request that I email it to the marketing department of the venue for his forthcoming exhibition for them to use in press releases and other promotional work.

Here is the photo he gave me:

Image

I felt that the photograph wasn’t very compelling artistically, and lacked impact.  Also, the placement of the tree in the background made the composition of the picture look quite unprofessional.  I therefore decided to artistically update the image before sending out.

First, I cropped out the main figure.  I’m getting used to using a combination of pen, magnetic lasso, magic wand and quick selection for cropping. I then added an outer glow to the cutout figure.

Image

Next, I added a grey background, with a rounded rectangle in the middle with out glow and stroke, and a graphical text header (the font for Sussex Artist was download from Dafont.com).The layer containing the sketching figure was kept near the top so that it appears above the background:

Image

This will form a template that can now be used for a variery of uses.  I will suggest to my Uncle that it be used for the invitation that are sent out in the post for the private viewing on the opening night of the exhibition.

This template also works well when an image of typical sussex countryside is dropped in behind the central rectangle:

Image

The image of the sussex countryside is a photograph I took in the summer, and you can see that the barn in the bottom left corner is an unwanted distraction.  I removed it using the clone stamp tool to fill it with copies of trees:

Image

This is now a much more engaging and professional looking image than the original, and will be sent to the gallery’s marketing department this week.

Also, I tried adding one of my Uncle’s own paintings as a backdrop but felt that the overall message of the image was now confusing, with the artist sketching his own art:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

 

I then gave the same treatment to a 2nd photograph provided by my uncle.

Before:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

After:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Leave a Reply

