Piping border effect

Next, I wanted to create a piping effect border for my fabric style logo.

I created vertical and horizontal border sections by merging together two layers of simple gradiented lines.

I used this online tutorial (http://www.yellowpipe.com/yis/tutorials/ps7/ps_assemb_pipes.php) to join the borders at the corners.  

Image

Stretching out the vertical and horizontal out until they meet and are pixel perfect was a profoundly satisfying task indeed!

Ideally I’d have liked to have had the corners slightly rounded, but I can’t work out a way of doing this at the moment.

Here’s the resulting logo ready to go into the site.  

Image

The top border is purposely missing as I want to somehow create an effect of depth when ‘connecting’ the logo to the site, but not sure how I will do this yet.  Maybe a spiral bound effect looping over the outside border, or perhaps have the fabric folding over the top edge of the site.

 

Leave a Reply

