Portfolio sites

I spent a great deal of time last year researching Portfolio sites when putting my own together www.onebigegg.com.

I found that the hardest part was the wording for advertising my services.  In the end I settled on :

A well designed website is now a fundamental starting point for any brand or business.
At One Big Egg, we’ll work with you to fully understand your business and customers, then design and build you a modern, stylish website that is eye-catching and highly functional to transform your online presence.
Whether it's a redesign of your existing site that you require, or a site built from scratch, One Big Egg can a provide fast and cost effective service.
We also offer graphic design services - business cards, posters, leaflets, printed DVD / CD's and more.
If you have a project you'd like to kickstart - please contact us to discuss - we would love to hear from you.

Having viewed numerous other sites for inspiration, I decided to follow a common trend by breaking down my services into three categories “Small / Medium / Large” – though I’m taking a punt with “Large” at the moment given that I’ve not yet actually developed an e-commerce site!

I have decided to offer Responsive as a standard across all three packages as I do believe that all sites should now be designed to look good and be functional across all devices given that such a large portion of web consumers are now viewing sites on handheld devices.

I have also spent time this week redesigning my business cards for One Big Egg, and have started work on developing a design-oriented CV (I had not actually thought of creating a CV specifically for the design side of my career – to date I have just made slight amendments to the opening passage of my finance accounts-based CV.

I frequently view websites of local and other specific web design agencies to see what vacancies they have.  Ideally, I am looking to relocate back to Swindon so have been concentrating my search there.  Once my CV is ready, I plan to contact as many design agencies in Swindon, and ask them which recruitment sites / agencies they advertise their vacancies with, and at the same time show them my CV with the hope of opening a dialogue with them and sell my skills…..

I also plan to focus my job search on Bristol as this city is commutable from Swindon and has a reputation of being a digital hub,

